News & EventsCySPri News

Girish Revadigar selected as one of the 'Top 200 Most Qualified Young Researchers' to participate in Heidelberg Laureate Forum 2016

Congratulations to Girish Revadigar, PhD student under the supervision of  Prof. Sanjay Jha, for being selected by the Scientific Committee of the Heidelberg Laureate Forum Foundation (HLFF) to participate in the 4th Heidelberg Laureate Forum, taking place from September 18 to 23 in Heidelberg, Germany.  

The HLF offers all selected young researchers the great opportunity to personally interact with the laureates of the most prestigious prizes in the fields of mathematics and computer science. For one week, the recipients of the Abel Prize, the ACM A.M. Turing Award, the Fields Medal, and the Nevanlinna Prize engage in a cross-generational scientific dialogue with young researchers in Heidelberg, Germany. 

Only the top 200 most qualified young researchers are selected from all over the world and granted the opportunity to experience the Heidelberg Laureate Forum  (

Chitra Javali and Girish Revadigar have won the "Best Project Demonstration Award" at PerCom 2016

Congratulations to Chitra Javali and Girish Revadigar, PhD students under the supervision of Prof. Sanjay Jha, for winning the "Best Project Demonstration Award" for presenting their novel solution titled "Location Fingerprint Evidence and Authorisation Using WiFi Channel Characteristics" at PerCom 2016, an A* ranked top tier conference which was held at Sydney during 14-18 March 2016.

UNSW team wins Cyber Security Challenge


25 February 2016

"UNSW team wins Cyber Security Challenge"

Note: Although the competition was in September last year, the Minister for Education formally awarded the competition winners yesterday, hence the media reports today.

"The University of New South Wales has dominated the federal government's Cyber Security Challenge for the third year in a row, with its teams beating out a record number of students to be awarded the top four places in the competition.

Coming in first place, with 2499 points, was the University of New South Wales team of Niel van der Westhuizen, George Caley, Adam Chyb and Genevieve Anne Carter.

The runners-up on 2181 points were Alyssa Besseling, Donny Yang, Oliver Tan and Glen Carmichael; while the team of Daniel Phillips, Nicholas Laver, Nicholas Whyte and Sean Yeoh came third with a score of 2070.

The highest-ranked team not from UNSW came from Monash University, which claimed fifth spot on 1647 points.

Each of the top three teams picked up four flights to Ruxcon and Kiwicon, with the winning team also picking up tickets to Defcon 2016, four Samsung Gear VR with Oculus headsets and four Samsung Galaxy S6 phones."



Sophisticated hacking system may be behind hoax threats received by Australian schools

The Guardian
3rd February 2016
"Sophisticated hacking system may be behind hoax threats received by Australian schools"
Professor Sanjay Jha, the director of cybersecurity and privacy at the University of NSW, said that the perpetrators could prove difficult for police to track down. 

PM talks up cyber security in Japan
December 18, 2015
"PM talks up Australia in Japan:

Mr Turnbull also announced a joint research program into cyber security and hydrogen energy between the University of NSW and Kyushu University.



Page 3 of 9