News & EventsCySPri News

Congratulations Prof. Carroll Morgan for wining the NSA Cybersecurity Research Paper Competition

One of Carroll Morgan's papers was recently announced as the Winner of Annual NSA Cybersecurity Research Paper Competition 2015. Here you can find more information:

Prof. Sanjay joins working groups to improve Australia’s cyber security

Prof. Sanjay Jha has been invited to the joint Working Groups that will co-design a new national Cyber Security Strategy to assist the Government with next steps to improve Australia’s cyber security. This initiative is coordinated by the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet.



Congratulations to our five teams in this year’s Cyber Security Challenge Australia

Congratulations to our five teams in this year’s Cyber Security Challenge Australia which came 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, and 29th!

This makes UNSW the champions every year for the four years that the competition has run.

CySCA is a ‘hacking’ competition run by an alliance of Australian Government, business and academic professionals who are committed to finding the next generation of Australian cyber security talent. CySCA is Australia’s only national cyber security competition. It runs over 24-hours and began at 12pm Wednesday 30 September 2015 and concluded at 12pm Thursday 1 October (AEST).

UNSW4 were also the "pentesting finishers" (meaning that they finished all of pentesting challenges first, and also were the only people to do so).

The five teams were:
UNSW1: Niel van der Westhuizen, George Caley, Adam Chyb, Genevieve Anne
UNSW2: Alyssa Besseling, Donny Yang, Oliver Tan, Glen Carmichael
UNSW3: Daniel Phillips, Nick Whyte, Nicholas Laver, Sean Yeoh
UNSW4: Andrew Bennett, Thomas Phillips, Bruce Hely, Adrian Goldwaser
UNSW5: Jordan Brown, Jake Bloom, Andy Zhu, Devesh Mitra

Well done to all of the teams!


Congratulations to Jun Young Kim for being selected for Student Travel Grant at ACM SenSys 2015

Congratulations to Jun Young Kim, being selected for the "Student Travel Grant" for presenting his accepted paper in the 13th ACM Conference on Embedded Networked Sensor Systems (SenSys 2015), will be held at Seoul, South Korea, November 1-4, 2015.


Congratulations to Chitra and Girish for a fully funded internship at Philips Research, Eindhoven, Netherlands

Congratulations to Chitra Javali and Girish Revadigar for being offered a fully funded internship at Philips Research, Eindhoven, Netherlands. The internship is jointly funded by Philips Research, Eindhoven, and AU2EU, an EU-funded collaborative research and development project bringing together leading industry and research organisations from Europe and Australia.  Chitra and Girish have been invited to contribute to AU2EU project.

Page 5 of 9